Log In Register

Source & Citation Info

title:“Journal Notes of the Pennsylvania Ratification Convention”
date written:1787-11-21

permanent link
to this version:
last updated:Jan. 22, 2013, 8:04 a.m. UTC
retrieved:Jan. 19, 2022, 4:19 p.m. UTC

"Journal Notes of the Pennsylvania Ratification Convention." The Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution. Vol. 2. Ed. Gaspare J. Saladino and John P. Kaminski. Madison: Wisconsin Historical Society Press, 1976. 326-27. Print.

Journal Notes of the Pennsylvania Ratification Convention (November 21, 1787)

Sixty of the gentlemen elected to serve in the Convention met.
The returns of the elections held for the city of Philadelphia and the several counties of this state were read, by which it appears that the following gentlemen were returned as delegates for the Convention for the said city and counties, respectively, viz.:
For the City of Philadelphia George Latimer Benjamin Rush Hilary Baker James Wilson Thomas McKean For Philadelphia County William Macpherson John Hunn George Gray Samuel Ashmead Enoch EdwardsFor Bucks County Henry Wynkoop John Barclay Thomas Yardley Abraham Stout For Chester County Thomas Bull Anthony Wayne William Gibbons Richard Downing Thomas Cheyney John Hannum For Lancaster County Stephen Chambers Robert Coleman Sebastian Graff John Hubley Jasper Yeates John Whitehill For York County Henry Slagle Thomas Campbell Thomas Hartley David Grier John Black Benjamin Pedan For Cumberland County John Harris John Reynolds Robert Whitehill Jonathan Hoge For Berks County Nicholas Lutz John Ludwig Abraham Lincoln John Bishop Joseph Hiester For Northampton County John Arndt Stephen Balliot Joseph Horsfield David Deshler For Bedford County James Martin Joseph Powell For Northumberland County William Wilson John Boyd For Westmoreland County William Findley John Baird William Todd For Washington County James Marshel James Edgar Thomas Scott John Nevill For Fayette County Nathaniel Breading John Smilie For Franklin County Richard Bard John Allison For Montgomery County Jonathon Roberts John Richards Frederick A. Muhlenberg James Morris For Dauphin County William Brown Adam Orth John A. Hanna For Luzerne County Timothy Pickering For Huntingdon County Benjamin Elliott The Convention proceeded to elect a president.
The ballots being counted, it appeared that Frederick Augustus Muhlenberg, Esquire was duly elected.
An invitation to the President and members of the Convention from the faculty of the University of Pennsylvania, requesting their company at a commencement to be held tomorrow, was read.
Agreed to attend in a body, at ten o'clock tomorrow.
Adjourned until nine o'clock, A. M.

Resource Metadata





  • Unknown


Annotations (0)