Log In Register

Source & Citation Info

title:“Journal Notes of the Pennsylvania Ratification Convention”
date written:1787-11-27

permanent link
to this version:
last updated:Jan. 22, 2013, 8:00 a.m. UTC
retrieved:Sept. 27, 2020, 10:50 a.m. UTC

"Journal Notes of the Pennsylvania Ratification Convention." The Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution. Vol. 2. Ed. Gaspare J. Saladino and John P. Kaminski. Madison: Wisconsin Historical Society Press, 1976. 368-70. Print.

Journal Notes of the Pennsylvania Ratification Convention (November 27, 1787)

The Convention met pursuant to adjornment.
On motion of Benjamin Rush, secondly by John Allison.
Ordered, That the seats on the right and left of the President be reserved for members of Congress and of the Supreme Executive Council.
Letters from Messieurs Hall and Sellers, and Messieurs Pritchardand Hall, respectively requesting to be appointed printers to the Convention, were read.
On motion of Stephen Chambers, seconded by William M'Pherson, The Convention proceeded to elect a printer; the ballots being taken, it appeared that Messieurs Hall and Sellers were duly elected.
On motion of Stephen Balliott, seconded by John Hubley, Ordered, That a number of copies of the Minutes of this Convention be printed in German.
On motion of Benjamin Rush, seconded by John Arndt, Ordered, That Mr. Steiner be directed to print the German copies.
On motion of Thomas M'Kean, seconded by John Hubley, Ordered, That the number of English copies be 3000, the number of German 2000.
On motion, Ordered, That the President be directed to draw on the treasurer, in favor of the secretary, for the sum of one hundreddollars, to enable him to defray the contingent expenses of the Convention, he to be accountable.
On motion of Robert Whitehill, seconded by Abraham Lincoln, to add to the 12th rule of this Convention the following words, viz.: "Any member shall have a right to enter the reasons of his vote on the Minutes on the general question, viz., Whether this Convention will assent to and ratify the Constitution submitted to their consideration?" The question being put, the yeas and nays were called by John Smilie and Robert Whitehill, and were as follow.
YEAS [22]
1 John Whitehill
2 John Harris
3 John Reynolds
4 Robert Whitehill
5 Jonathan Hoge
6 Nicholas Lutz
7 John Ludwig
8 Abraham Lincoln
9 John Bishop
10 James Martin
11 Joseph Powell
12 John Baird
13 William Todd
14 James Marshall
15 James Edgar
16 Nathaniel Breading
17 John Smilie
18 Richard Bard
19 John Richards
20 William Brown
21 Adam Orth
22 John Andre Hanna NAYS [44]
1 George Latimer
2 Benjamin Rush
3 Hilary Baker
4 James Wilson
5 Thomas M'Kean
6 William M'Pherson
7 John Hunn
8 George Gray
9 Samuel Ashmead 10 Enoch Edwards
11 Henry Wynkoop
12 John Barclay
13 Thomas Yardley
14 Abraham Stout
15 Thomas Bull
16 Anthony Wayne
17 William Gibbons
18 Richard Downing
19 Thomas Cheyney
20 John Hannum
21 Stephen Chambers
22 Robert Coleman
23 Sebastian Graff
24 John Hubley
25 Jasper Yeates
26 Henry Slagle
27 Thomas Campbell
28 Thomas Hartley
29 David Grier
30 John Black
31 Benjamin Pedan
32 John Arndt
33 Stephen Balliott
34 Joseph Horsefield
35 David Deshler
36 William Wilson
37 John Boyd
38 Thomas Scott
39 John Nevill
40 John Allison
41 Jonathan Roberts
42 Frederick A. Muhlenberg
43 James Morris
44 Benjamin Elliott So it was determined in the negative.
The original question being then put, viz., "Will this Convention now proceed to consider the Constitution (submitted to their consideration by articles?"
It was carried in the affirmative.
The Convention then proceeded to consider the first Article, and after some debate, Adjourned until ten o'clock tomorrow, A. M.

Resource Metadata





  • Unknown


Annotations (0)