Log In Register

Source & Citation Info

title:“Journal Notes of the Virginia Ratification Convention Proceedings”
date written:1788-6-2

permanent link
to this version:
last updated:Jan. 22, 2013, 8:26 a.m. UTC
retrieved:March 5, 2024, 8:17 a.m. UTC

"Journal Notes of the Virginia Ratification Convention Proceedings." Virginia Independent Chronicle 1788-06-02 : . Rpt. in The Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution. Vol. 9. Ed. Gaspare J. Saladino and John P. Kaminski. Madison: Wisconsin Historical Society Press, 1990. 909-10. Print.
The Library of Virginia

Journal Notes of the Virginia Ratification Convention Proceedings (June 2, 1788)

This being the day recommended by the Legislature for the meeting of the Convention, to take into consideration the proposed Plan of Federal Government,1 a majority of the Gentlemen delegated thereto, assembled at the Public Buildings, in Richmond,—Whereupon they proceeded to the choice of a Secretary, when Mr. JOHN BECKLEY, was appointed to that office.
The Honorable EDMUND PENDLETON, was nominated, and unanimously elected President; who being seated in the Chair, thanked the Convention for the honor conferred on him, and strongly recommended to the members to use the utmost moderation and temper in their deliberations on the great and important subject now before them.
On the recommendation of Mr. Paul Carrington, the REV. ABNER WAUGH was unanimously elected Chaplain to the Convention, and ordered to attend every morning to read prayers, immediately after the bell shall be rang for calling the Convention.
The Convention then appointed William Drinkard, sen. and William Drinkard, jun. Door-keepers.
On motion,—Ordered, That a Committee of Privileges and Elections, be appointed.
And a Committee was appointed of Mr. Benjamin Harrison, Mr. George Mason, His Excellency Governor Randolph, Mr. Henry, Mr. George Nicholas, Mr. John Marshall, Mr. Paul Carrington, Mr. Tyler, Mr. Alexander White, Mr. Blair, Mr. Bland, Mr. Grayson, Mr. Fisher, Mr. Mathews, Mr. John Jones, Mr. Wythe, Mr. William Cabell, Mr. James Taylor, (of Caroline) Mr. Gabriel Jones, Mr. Corbin, Mr. Innes, Mr. Monroe, Mr. Henry Lee, and Mr. Bullitt.
Ordered, That the Committee of Privileges and Elections do examine and report the returns for electing Delegates to serve in this Convention; and, that in cases where no returns are made, it be an instruction to the said Committee, to receive such evidence as the sitting member shall produce of his election, and report the same to the Convention.
On motion,—Ordered, That Mr. EDMUND PENDLETON, jun. be appointed Clerk to the Committee of Privileges and Elections.
Mr. Paul Carrington presented a petition of Thomas Stith, of the county of Brunswick, complaining an undue election and return of Binns Jones, one of the Delegates returned to serve in this Convention, for the said county of Brunswick;—which was ordered to be referred to the Committee of Privileges and Elections.
On motion of Mr. Corbin,—Ordered, That Mr. AUGUSTINE DAVIS, be appointed Printer to the Convention, and that he cause to be printed, forthwith, two hundred copies of the Plan of Federal Government—also two hundred copies of the Resolutions of the General Assembly of the 25th of October last, to be distributed among the members of this Convention.
On motion of Mr. George Mason—Ordered, That the Convention be adjourned until to-morrow morning, eleven o'clock, then to meet at the New Academy, on Shockœ-Hill, in this city.

Resource Metadata





  • Unknown


Annotations (1)