Log In Register

Source & Citation Info

title:“The Connecticut Form of Ratification”
date written:1788-1-9

permanent link
to this version:
last updated:Jan. 22, 2013, 8:45 a.m. UTC
retrieved:Aug. 18, 2022, 10:44 p.m. UTC

"The Connecticut Form of Ratification." Connecticut Courant 1788-01-09 : . Rpt. in The Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution. Vol. 3. Ed. Gaspare J. Saladino and John P. Kaminski. Madison: Wisconsin Historical Society Press, 1978. 560-62. Print.
National Archives

The Connecticut Form of Ratification (January 9, 1788)

The Connecticut Form of Ratification, 9 January In the Name of the People of the State of Connecticut.
We the Delegates of the People of sd. State in general Convention assembled, pursuant to an Act of the Legislature in October last, Have assented to and ratified, and by these presents do assent to, ratify and adopt the Constitution, reported by the Convention of Delegates in Philadelphia, on the 17th day of September AD. 1787. for the United States of America.
Done in Convention this 9th. day of January AD. 1788. In witness whereof we have hereunto set our hands. Matthew Griswold President:
John Chandler Jereh Wadsworth John Beach Jesse Root Hezh. Rogers Isaac Lee Leml. Sanford Selah Heart William Heron Zebulon Peck jur Philip Burr Bradley Elisha Pitkin Nathan Dauchy Erastus Wolcott James Davenport John Watson John Davenport Junr John Treadwell Wm. Saml. Johnson William Judd Elisha Mills Joseph Mosely Elipht Dyer Wait Goodrich Jeda: Elderkin John Curtiss Simeon Smith Asa Barns Hendrick Dow Stephen Mix Mitchell Seth Paine John Chester Asa Witter Oliv Ellsworth Moses Cleaveland Roger Newberry Samson Howe Roger Sherman Willm Danielson Pierpont Edwards Wm. Williams Samuel Beach James Bradford Daniel Holbrook Joshua Dunlop John Holbrook Daniel Learned Gideon Buckingham Moses Campbell Lewis Mallet Jr.
Benjamin Dow Joseph Hopkins Oliver Wolcott John Welton Jedidiah Strong Richd Law Moses Hawley Amasa Learned Charles Burrall Sam. Huntington Nathan Hale Jed Huntington Daniel Miles Isaac Huntington Asaph Hall Robert Robbins Isaac Burnham Danll Foot John Wilder Eli Hyde Mark Prindle Joseph Woodbridge Jedidiah Hubbel Stephen Billings Aaron Austin Andrew Lee Samuel Canfield William Noyes Daniel Everitt Joshua Raymond Junr.
Hez: Fitch Jerh. Halsey Joshua Porter Wheeler Coit Benjn Hinman Charles Phelps Epaphras Sheldon Nathaniel Miner Eleazer Curtiss Jonathan Sturges John Whittlesey Thaddeus Burr Danl Nathl Brinsmade Elisha Whittelsey Thomas Fenn Joseph Moss White David Smith Amos Mead Robert McCune Jabez Fitch Daniel Sherman Nehemiah Beardsley Samuel Orton James Potter Asher Miller Saml H. Parsons Jeremiah West Ebenr White Samuel Chapman Hezh Goodrich Ichabod Warner Dyar Throop Samuel Carver Jabez Chapman J
eremiah Ripley Cornelius Higgins Ephraim Root Hezekiah Brainerd John Phelps Theophilus Morgan Isaac Foot Hezh. Lane Abijah Sessions William Hart Caleb Holt Sam. Shipman Seth Crocker
State of Connecticut, ss. Hartford January ninth Anno Dominione thousand, seven hundred and eighty eight. The foregoing Ratification was agreed to, and signed as above, by one hundred and twenty eight, and dissented to by forty Delegates in Convention, which is a Majority of eighty eight.
Certified by Matthew Griswold President.
Teste Jedidiah Strong Secretary

Resource Metadata





  • Unknown


Annotations (1)