Log In Register

Source & Citation Info

title:“The New Jersey Form of Ratification”
date written:1787-12-18

permanent link
to this version:
last updated:Jan. 22, 2013, 7:57 a.m. UTC
retrieved:May 23, 2022, 7:28 a.m. UTC

"The New Jersey Form of Ratification." The Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution. Vol. 3. Ed. Gaspare J. Saladino and John P. Kaminski. Madison: Wisconsin Historical Society Press, 1978. 184-85. Print.
National Archives

The New Jersey Form of Ratification (December 18, 1787)

In Convention of the State of New-Jersey.—Whereas a convention of Delegates from the following States, Vizt. New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia, met at Philadelphia for the purpose of deliberating on, and forming a constitution for the United States of America, finished their Session on the seventeenth day of September last and reported to Congress the form which they had agreed upon, in the words following, Vizt.
Now be it known that we the Delegates of the State of New Jersey chosen by the People thereof for the purposes aforesaid having maturely deliberated on, and considered the aforesaid proposed Constitution, do hereby for and on the behalf of the People of the said State of New- Jersey agree to, ratify and confirm the same and every part thereof.
Done in Convention by the unanimous consent of the members present, this eighteenth day of December in the year of our Lord one thousand seven hundred and eighty seven, and of the Independence of the United States of America the twelfth. In Witness whereof we have hereunto subscribed our names.
John Stevens President and Delegate from the County of Hunterdon COUNTY OF
John Fell Peter Zabriskie Cornelius Hennion ESSEX
John Chetwood Samuel Hay David Crane MIDDLESEX
John Neilson John Beatty Benjamin Manning MONMOUTH
Elisha Lawrence Samuel Breese William Crawford SOMERSETT
Jno. Witherspoon Jacob R. Hardenbergh Fred. Frelinghuysen BURLINGTON
Thomas Reynolds Geo. Anderson Joshua M. Wallace COUNTY OF
RD. Howell Andw. Hunter Benjamin Whitall Salem Whitten Crips Edmund Wetherby CAPE-MAY
Jesse Hand Jeremiah Eldridge Matthew Whilldin HUNTERDON
David Brearley Joshua Corshon MORRIS
William Windes William Woodhull John Jacob Faesch CUMBERLAND
Davd. Potter Jonathon Bowen Eli Elmer SUSSEX
Robert Ogden Thoms. Anderson Robt. Hoops Attest. Saml. W. Stockton Secy.

Resource Metadata





  • Unknown


Annotations (0)